[ Contents | Post ]

UMNO Permatang Pauh lumpuh

Date: 04 Dec 1999
Time: 11:21:12


Thirteen Permatang Pauh Umno division committee members resigned en masse in protest against acting chief Datuk Ahmad Saad's decision to drop eight appointed committee members. Led by Abdul Razak Osman, the group said they had no confidence in Ahmad whom they accused of acting on his own accord.

With the resignation and termination of the elected and appointed committees, the Permatang Pauh Umno division is now paralysed, leaving only five members in the committee, including Ahmad.

"Ahmad should have waited for the report by the division's election committee on the performance of Barisan Nasional in the Permatang Pauh parliamentary constituency before taking any action," Abdul Razak said.

"This is not the time to point fingers at anyone after the Barisan lost three of the four seats it contested in Permatang Pauh," he told a press conference yesterday.

Ahmad had on Thursday dropped division secretary Yahaya Jamaluddin, treasurer Md Radzi Zainal Abidin, and six others, replacing them with new people to "consolidate" the division. It is learnt that those offered the jobs had declined the offer.

In his letter, Ahmad had stated that he agreed with Dr Ibrahim Saad, who lost to Parti Keadilan Nasional president Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah, that the division needed a revamp.

Abdul Razak said their resignation letters would be submitted to Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi who is in charge of Umno's management committee.

He also citicised Ahmad for locking up the division's headquarters so that others could not enter the building.

"We appeal to the Umno supreme council to cleanse the Permatang Pauh division and restore the members' confidence."

Dr Ibrahim, who was present at the press conference, said Ahmad should not have used his remark as an excuse to kick members out.

"Those terminated had worked hard for me during the campaign period," he added.

Last changed: December 04, 1999