[ Contents | Post ]

Malacca to have new CM

Date: 18 Nov 1999
Time: 23:47:13


Malacca to have new CM

By Devid Rajah

MALACCA: Datuk Seri Abu Zahar Isnin has been moved to contest the Jasin parliamentary seat, paving the way for a new chief minister in the state.

The state Umno line-up, which was finalised yesterday, will also see Deputy Health Minister and MP for Batu Berendam Datuk Wira Mohd Ali Rustam moving to the Paya Rumput state seat--giving rise to speculation that he will be the next chief minister.

Datuk Hajah Hazizah Mohd Sultan, who holds the Tangga Batu state seat, has been chosen to contest Batu Berendam in Mohd Ali's place, giving her the chance to become Malacca's first woman MP.

Incumbent Datuk Wira Abu Seman Yusop has been retained for the Alor Gajah parliamentary seat.

Newcomer state Umno Youth chief Nazari Adzim has been picked to contest Abu Zahar's former state seat of Merlimau.

Another new face is national Umno Youth exco member Kadir Daud for the Durian Tunggal state seat, replacing incumbent Datuk Sahar Arpan.

The other new faces for state seats are Capt (rtd) Karim Sulaiman (Sungai Udang), Aziz Isa (Pulau Sebang) Yaakob Mohd Amin (Tangga Batu).

Those dropped are state executive councillors Yasin Mohd Sarip (Paya Rumput), Datuk Noordin Yaani (Sungai Udang) and Datuk Mohd Shariff Drus (Pulau Sebang).

Alai state assemblyman and state assembly speaker Datuk Nasir Manap has also been dropped. He is replaced by Datuk Amid Nordin.

Abu Zahar, when met at his official residence in Seri Bendahara, said an official announcement would be made today.

Most of the candidates as well as those dropped were also at his house.

Last changed: November 18, 1999